With only days left in this year I thought I would share my top 16 books I read in 2016. In total I read 66 books (if I can finish what I’m reading now then it will be 67) So here is my list!

16.The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

17347389

When making this list I looked at what I read each month and pulled my favorites of that month to be considered for the final list. I did like every Raven Boys book equally, but this one was the only one that stood out in the month that I read it. Even though this one made my list and not the others that does not mean that Ronan is my favorite Raven Boy. Noah is. Don’t ask why he’s my favorite he just is.

15. Pooped Puppies

51u5jfn8d9l-_sx258_bo1204203200_

Even though this is something with no plot or story, it’s a book with pictures of puppies how could it not make the list. The only reason it’s not higher on the list is because like I said it doesn’t have a plot or story.

14. The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordanblood_of_o_final_cvr

Unpopular opinion, this was one of my favorites of the series. My most favorite from this series is The Mark of Athena, but I read that one last year so it didn’t make the list. I really felt satisfied with how this went, maybe that was because I knew about The Trials of Apollo coming, maybe it wasn’t, I’m not sure. That one part that made me cry a lot that I can’t speak of because of spoilers (it had nothing to do with Leo) really made the book that much better.

13. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

51vpagsvayl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

When it came down to deciding between Illuminae or Gemina being on this list, it had to be Illuminae. I prefer Illuminae to Gemina and Illuminae really went beyond my expectations. I’m not a big sci-fi fan, but this was something I could understand and enjoy. I was pulled in from the beginning and didn’t let go of me until I was done.

12. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas77493_original

This won’t be the only time you see Sarah J Maas on this list.  I didn’t expect to like this book at all, then again I didn’t think I’d like Throne of Glass either. I was probably one of the only people who actually wasn’t Tamlin’s biggest fan while reading this book. I just kept wondering what would happen and if things would turn out okay. It’s not my favorite Sarah J Maas book, but I did still really enjoy this.

11. Prodigy (graphic novel) by Marie Lu

30055999-_uy200_

I really enjoyed this graphic novel more than the Legend one. Which is kind of weird because Prodigy was my least favorite of the trilogy. I remember telling myself I would read a few pages then eat and then out of nowhere I had finished.

10. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

17661416

This was one that I heard from a booktuber (I think it was emmabooks) and I was somewhat interested. I didn’t think it was going to be as good as it was. I just really enjoyed these characters and the story.

9. Stars Above by Marissa Meyerstarsabove

This is probably my favorite novella collection I’ve ever read. I really loved seeing things from these characters pasts, especially Wolf. This made me love that character more than I had before. It also caused the start  of me saying “my precious Wolf baby” (don’t ask I don’t have an explanation). The last novella made me cry. It was just so beautiful.

8. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkinslolauk

I don’t know how to explain my feelings for this book. I just read it and loved it. It’s something that I could read over and over and even if one of the times I didn’t like it I would still read it again.

7. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

download-1

This book had been sitting on my shelf all sad and unread until back in June during a busy week when I decided that I should read something quick (by quick I mean not fantasy). This turned out being my favorite Sarah Dessen book so far (I’ve only read four).

6. Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers

25898555

I expected just a short quick fun romance story. What I got was realistic characters and a plot that wasn’t just all about the romance. It was definitely the best contemporary I read this year and I plan to read it again in the near future.

5. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordanthe_hidden_oracle

In my copy of this I marked every spot that made me laugh. It has a lot of tabs in it. It was just so funny and amusing and Apollo was the best, not better than Percy, but still pretty awesome. I finished it wanting to start the next book right away, but I couldn’t because it’s not out yet.

4. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

a_monster_calls

I wasn’t expecting to like this at all, but I loved it. It made me cry a lot and now I’m just waiting until the movie is out so I can relive the pain all over again.

3. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

26156203

I talk about this book all the time. It showed it in almost every list I did for Bookmas. I wrote a whole review of this when I hate writing reviews. I constantly talk about Pasha. Is it really a surprise this is here?

2. Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maaseos-cover

Told you she would be back. I went to the signing for this, then I started it at 3:00 A.M. I just need to know the things. I cried so much while reading this too. Sometimes I cry just thinking about it. Sometimes I cry when I remember that there’s only one book left in this series. Basically this book just makes me cry a lot and it takes both a lot and practically nothing to make me cry.

1.  A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

17742555-_sy540_

Another book that caused tears, not as many as Empire of Storms, but I still cried. Also Rhysand. I really want to read this again but it’s huge and I don’t think I’m ready for this again.

So that was my favorite books of 2016, let me know what your favorites are!

Thank you for reading and I will see you next time. Bye!!!

2 thoughts on “Top 16 of 2016!

Leave a Reply

